Welcome 2017

Last year I did a book challenge.  I made it about half way through ( 26 books if I remember correctly ).. and then lost the will to live.  I missed my preferred genre.  I missed the joy of just browsing at the bookstore and in my own library.  I was exhausted.  From reading.  So I quit.

I did really enjoy stretching my legs and reading things I never would have read on my own.  I think it was the political memoir that broke me.  I will say I’m very glad I did the challenge simply for the one that told me to read a book recommended by a stranger.  I wound up asking our server at the local Smokey Bones.  She was a young 20 something and I thought it would be interesting… believe me it was.  I’m not sure what I expected, but once she wrapped her head around the idea of recommending a book without knowing what I liked to read she very readily suggested All Quiet on the Western Front.  I must say, of all the books I would not have read that one was very powerful and by far my favorite.  I had to take a break of almost a week to digest and let the thing settle in my soul before I could pick up and move on to the next selection.

I have tried Goodreads.  I used to use it a lot.  It got old.  I really don’t like giving reviews or critiques.  I don’t like analyzing what I read.  I like to let the story melt in my mouth like good chocolate.  Sometimes there is insight.  Sometimes the story is thought provoking and makes me consider a message, but mostly, to me, the story is the thing. So.  This year I have decided to put my readings down here.  I don’t know what will happen.  I don’t know if it will be more than a list of what I read.  But I’m hoping it will turn into more than that and give me an interesting look back on my year by what I was reading.

Let’s see what happens, shall we?

Leave a Reply

